top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sound Cafe

2023 Canadian Country Music Awards Winners Announced

The Reklaws. Photo Credit: CCMA.

Host City: Hamilton, Ontario. TV Award Hosts: The Reklaws.

Since 1976, the CCMA has been committed to ensuring the growth and development of the Canadian country music industry. Through education, communication, information, promotion and recognition, the CCMA offers members these advantages in an increasingly competitive environment. Core to these efforts is Country Music Week. It is the focal point for the organization and its members, providing professional development opportunities, showcasing slots, and an opportunity to heighten awareness and increase exposure for Canada’s country music artists.

Originally founded as the Academy of Country Music Entertainment in September 1976 during an “RPM Magazine” function, the first Board of Directors under President Hank Smith set out to organize, promote and develop a Canadian country music industry, which included the founding of Country Music Week.

The very first awards presented in coordination with Country Music Week were the RPM Big Country Awards. It wasn’t until 1982 that the association inaugurated its very own Canadian Country Music Association Awards.

In 1987, the organization’s name was officially changed to the Canadian Country Music Association (CCMA). Growing in both reputation and experience, the CCMA was able to secure a broadcast partnership with CTV Television which allowed the 1987 Canadian Country Music Association Awards to be televised for the first time coast to coast to coast. The CCMA continued its partnership with CTV until 1998.

It was in 1999 that the CCMA entered into a new partnership, now with CBC Television, with encore broadcasts on CMT in Canada. The 2005 Canadian Country Music Association Awards were also broadcast for the first time on the U.S. Network GAC (Great American Country) and on CMC (Country Music Channel) in Australia.

It can be said that music is the very soul of this country, and reflects the true identity of Canada. As the country genre evolves to embrace new styles, it is reflecting new versions of our Canadian identity, as well as our heritage. Country Music Week and the Canadian Country Music Association Awards continue to be a celebration of the music and the artists that represent our unique culture.

OFFICIAL 2023 CCMA AWARDS PRESENTED BY TD WINNERS: Entertainer of the Year Jade Eagleson

Album of the Year Tim & The Glory Boys – Tim & The Glory Boys

Female Artist of the Year Tenille Townes

Group or Duo of the Year James Barker Band

Male Artist of the Year Jade Eagleson

Breakthrough Artist or Group of the Year Josh Ross

Single of the Year Right On Time – Lindsay Ell

TD® Aeroplan® Visa Fans’ Choice Award James Barker Band

2023 CCMA Music Industry Gala Dinner & Awards Presented By Stingray Top Selling Album of the Year One Thing At A Time – Morgan Wallen Top Selling Canadian Album of the Year, presented by Anthem Entertainment Good Ol’ Days – The Reklaws

Top Selling Canadian Single of the Year Dear Alcohol – Dax

2023 Canadian Country Music Hall Of Fame® Inductees Brian Edwards (Stan Klees Builder) Jason McCoy (Artist)

2023 Gary Slaight Music Humanitarian Award Dean Brody Steel Guitar Player of the Year Doug Johnson

Specialty Instrument Player of the Year Mitch Jay

Keyboard Player of the Year Brendan Waters Fiddle Player of the Year Julie Kennedy

Drummer of the Year Rich Dasilva

Bass Player of the Year Justin Kudding

Guitar Player of the Year presented by PRS Guitars Brennan Wall

Country Music Program or Special of the Year Christmas Time with Tenille Townes 2022 (Sony Music Entertainment (Canada) Inc)

Country Club of the Year The King Eddy – Calgary, AB

Country Festival, Fair or Exhibition of the Year Boots and Hearts Music Festival – Oro-Medonte, ON Country Personality(ies) of the Year Wendy Boomer (CKBY-FM)

Radio Station of the Year (Medium or Small Market) CHCQ-FM – Belleville, ON

Radio Station of the Year (Large Market), presented by Explore Edmonton CJJR-FM – Vancouver, BC

Music Publishing Company of the Year, presented by CMRRA Big Loud Publishing

Booking Agency of the Year Sakamoto Agency

Video Director of the Year Travis Nesbitt

Innovative Campaign of the Year, presented by Flair Airlines Jade Eagleson – “She Don’t Know” Wedding Contest

Creative Team or Designer of the Year Design Team: Austin Chaffe Single: Beer Me (Artist: James Barker Band), Shakin’ In Them Boots (Artist: Jade Eagleson) Marketing Campaign: Dean Brody x NHLPA (Artist: Dean Brody) Tour Marketing/Live Show Element: Northern Anthem (Artist: Dean Brody), Brand Launch: EPK (Artist: Griffen Palmer), Album Marketing: Good Ol’ Days (Artist: The Reklaws), Merch: (Artist: The Reklaws) Alternative Country Album of the Year A Traveler’s Lament – Kyle McKearney

Record Producer(s) of the Year Danick Dupelle Single: Back To Drinkin’ Whiskey (Artist: Tyler Joe Miller), Single: Never Met A Beer (Artist: Tyler Joe Miller, Matt Lang)

Ron Sakamoto Talent Buyer or Promoter of the Year Brooke Dunford – Republic Live

Retailer or Commercial Platform of the Year Spotify Canada Inc. Record Company of the Year Big Loud Records Recording Studio of the Year MCC Recording Studio – Calgary, AB Management Company of the Year The Core Entertainment Video of the Year, presented by Stingray Float – Tim & The Glory Boys

Songwriter(s) of the Year, presented by SOCAN Bryan Adams, Daniel Tashian, Tenille Townes, Kate York Song: The Thing That Wrecks You (Performed by: Tenille Townes featuring Bryan Adams)

Musical Collaboration of the Year Do This Life – High Valley, Alison Krauss One Too – Dallas Smith & MacKenzie Porter

Industry Person of the Year, presented by TD Warren Copnick – Sony Music Entertainment (Canada) Inc.



bottom of page