top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sound Cafe

The 2023 Canadian Folk Music Awards Nominees Announced

104 nominees in 19 categories from across Canada

The Canadian Folk Music Awards celebrates its 18th edition, with a roster of nominations that celebrates the breadth and depth of Canadian folk music. This year’s nominees span the country from Leader, Saskatchewan, to Papineauville Québec, and from Salt Spring Island, British Columbia to Fredericton, New Brunswick — celebrating the diversity and talent of artists and musicians across Canada.

Established by Canada’s vibrant and internationally-recognized folk music community, the awards currently boasts 19 categories. Nominees are chosen for each category through a two-stage jury process. More than 100 jurors, located across Canada, representing all official provinces, territories and languages, determine the official recipients in each category.

The CFMA 2023 Awards Weekend takes place March 31 - April 2, 2023, and we are looking forward to heading to Vancouver, BCI! The weekend will capture the true heart of our folk community, while celebrating the 2023 nominees and the category recipients.

The 2023 Canadian Folk Music Award Nominees

Children’s Album of the Year / Album jeunesse de l’année

Ça suffit pour s'amuser (Hannah Shira Naiman)

Folk For Little Folk Volume 1 (Gordie Crazylegs MacKeeman)

Ponderosa Bunchgrass and the Golden Rule (The Oot n' Oots)

The Full Circle (The Relative Minors)

Tuba Blues (My Friend Christopher)

Contemporary Album of the Year / Album contemporain de l’année

Cerulean (Ken Yates)

Down-Home (Kyle McKearney)

eleven (Madison Violet)

Hurricane Coming (Shawna Caspi)

Long Haul (John Wort Hannam)

Sanctuary (Sultans of String)

Tongues (Tanya Tagaq)

Zhawenim (Digging Roots)

Contemporary Singer of the Year / Chanteur contemporain de l’année:

Angelique Francis (Long River)

Barney Bentall (Cosmic Dreamer)

Boy Golden (Church of Better Daze)

Ken Yates (Cerulean)

Kyle McKearney (Down-Home)

English Songwriter(s) / Auteur compositeur(s) anglophone:

Abigail Lapell (Stolen Time)

Andrew McClelland aka Li'l Andy (The Complete Recordings of Hezekiah Procter (1925-1930))

John Wort Hannam (Long Haul)

Matt Patershuk (An Honest Effort)

Tim Buckley (Frame by Frame)

Yael Wand (Saltwater Heartwood)

Ensemble of the Year / Groupe de l’année:

Over The Moon (Chinook Waltz)

The Dead South (Easy Listening For Jerks - Part 1)

The Fretless (Open House)

The McDades (The Empress)

The Slocan Ramblers (Up the Hill and Through the Fog)

French Songwriter(s) of the Year / Auteur-compositeur(s) francophone de l’année:

Anik Bérubé & Natalie Byrns (Les ébranlements)

Geneviève Roberge-Bouchard & Alain Barbeau (J’attends encore)

Héra Ménard & Guylaine Saint-Pierre (Fleurs)

Matt Stern (Rien qu'un animal)

Sébastien Lacombe (Le chemin des possibles)

Global Roots Album of the Year / Album traditions du monde de l’année:

III (Ayrad)

Sanctuary (Sultans of String)

Thieves of Dreams / Zloději snů (Lenka Lichtenberg)

Tradisyon (Wesli Louissaint)

Until When (Jaffa Road)

Indigenous Songwriter(s) of the Year / Auteur compositeur(s) autochtone de l’année:

Adrian Sutherland (When The Magic Hits)

Amanda Rheaume (The Spaces In Between)

Berk Jodoin (Half Breed)

Kyle McKearney (Down-Home)

ShoShona Kish & Raven Kanatakta Polson-Lahache (Zhawenim)

Instrumental Group of the Year / Groupe instrumental de l’année:

Allison de Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves (Hurricane Clarice)

Proulx-Demers (Il fera beau demain)

RanchWriters (RanchWriters)

Shannon Quinn & Tony Quinn (20 Summers)

The McDades (The Empress)

Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year / Instrumentiste solo de l’année:

Ellen Gibling (The Bend in the Light)

John Reischman (New Time & Old Acoustic)

Kerry Fitzgerald (Bitz & Beatz)

Mike Stevens (Breathe In The World Breathe Out Music)

Waymzy (Inchoate)

New/Emerging Artist(s) of the Year / Artiste(s) de la relève de l’année:

Alex Krawczyk (Le Olam)

Andrew Waite (Andrew Waite)

Camie (troubadour)

Cheval (Singer Songwrecker)

RedFox (Stranger Love)

Tennyson King (Good Company)

Oliver Schroer Pushing the Boundaries Award / Prix Innovation musicale Oliver Schroer:

Flash de mémoire (Mélisande [électrotrad])

Sanctuary (Sultans of String)

Thieves of Dreams / Zloději snů (Lenka Lichtenberg)

Transcestral (Oktoécho)

Zhawenim (Digging Roots)

Producer(s) of the Year / Réalisateur(s) de l’année:

Brenley MacEachern & Lisa MacIsaac (eleven - Madison Violet)

Chris McKhool & John 'Beetle' Bailey (Sanctuary - Sultans of String)

Corwin Fox & Yael Wand (Saltwater Heartwood - Yael Wand)

Katia Makdissi-Warren (Transcestral - Oktoécho)

The Fretless & Joby Baker (Open House - The Fretless)

Single of the Year / Monoplage de l’année:

100 Proof (Julian Taylor)

À travers mes yeux (Geneviève et Alain)

Familiar Feeling (Pretty Archie)

Heavy Heart (Fortunate Ones)

Hey Boys Sing Us A Song (The Irish Rovers)

Love you the Best (Quote the Raven)

Sing Me A Song (William Prince and Serena Ryder)

Sweet Desperado (Madison Violet)

Teeth Agape (Tanya Tagaq)

Solo Artist of the Year / Artiste solo de l’année:

Barney Bentall (Cosmic Dreamer)

James Keelaghan (Second-Hand)

Jocelyn Pettit (Wind Rose)

John Wort Hannam (Long Haul)

Suzie Ungerleider (My Name Is Suzie Ungerleider)

Traditional Album of the Year/ Album traditionnel de l’année:

20 printemps (Le Vent Du Nord)

20 Summers (Shannon Quinn & Tony Quinn)

Hurricane Clarice (Allison de Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves)

Long Time Travelling (Ken Whiteley)

Up the Hill and Through the Fog (The Slocan Ramblers)

Traditional Singer of the Year / Chanteur traditionnel de l’année:

Kim Beggs (Steel and Wool)

Li'l Andy (The Complete Recordings of Hezekiah Procter (1925-1930))

Lizzy Hoyt (The Parting Glass)

Michael Darcy (Down to the Roots)

Mike Bravener (Have You Ever Heard The Story?)

Vocal Group of the Year / Groupe vocal de l’année:

Le Vent Du Nord (20 printemps)

Les Rats d'Swompe (Elixir)

Mama’s Broke (Narrow Line)

Quote the Raven (Can't Hold the Light)

The McDades (The Empress)

Young Performer(s) of the Year / Jeune artiste(s) de l’année:

Fiddelium (Fiddelium)

Paige Penney (Fingers Crossed)

The Fiddlaires (Fiddletainment)

The Oot n' Oots (Ponderosa Bunchgrass and the Golden Rule)

The Receivers (The Receivers)

Created in 2005, the Canadian Folk Music Awards celebrate the breadth and depth of folk music in Canada. Established as a non-profit, the mission of the CFMAs is to celebrate and promote Canadian folk music in all its forms.



bottom of page