top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sound Cafe

Skinny Lister Release Official Video For 'Company Of The Bar' + New Album Set For Release In October

By Stevie Connor.

Lifted from what will be the Skinny Lister’s sixth studio LP, ‘Shanty Punk’ (out 20 October), the lead single is now accompanied with a head-spinning video shot in the band’s old boozer of choice — The Forge & Flagon – a garden shed that has been innovatively converted into a traditional pub complete with tankards, pumps, a wood burner, dart board, horse brasses and all manner of other kinds of trinkets.

A venue that has loomed large in the history of the band, frontman Daniel Heptinstall explains, “Our fondness of the place was so great that we named our debut album after it. It’s been the venue of many great nights over the years, filled with music, good friends and great vibes. On occasion it’s been the place to gather for a post-show after-party when gigging up Leicester way. It has a magical atmosphere and we had great fun finally getting to make a video in there – cracked a few beers, pulled out the instruments and just tried to capture the spirit and uniqueness of the place. Long live the Forge!”

Capturing the Skinnies in full-flight, the video also stars friends Smudge and Mandy (aka landlord and landlady and creators of The Forge), alongside Roger Wilson on fiddle and Party George (aka Max and Lorna’s dad) on mandolin and other local regulars. Watch it here.

A song built for the road and the endless adventures it can promise, “Company Of The Bar”, finds the band dwelling on three recurring themes that have been constants in their career: drinking, traveling, and the sea. Swirling into one exhilarating new single, the results make for a driving, no-nonsense celebration of the virtues of hanging out down the pub with mates and loved ones.

Company of the Bar” will feature on ‘Shanty Punk’, Skinny Lister’s definitive new album; a concept record that’s simply all about: Skinny Lister.

As Dan explains, “Shanty Punk is our concept album – and the concept is Skinny Lister. It’s a pure distillation of what makes Skinny Lister tick, and perhaps a collection of songs that leans further into our folky routes than we’ve ventured in some years. It felt to us like it was time to touch base and celebrate the essence of the band, while at the same time – giving it a fresh and dynamic feel.”

Arriving as the follow-up to 2021’s ‘A Matter of Life & Love’, a freewheeling record that paid homage to all the greatest things in life, ‘Shanty Punk’ goes one further with a riotous reflection upon the journey that has defined Skinny Lister as a band.

Written and recorded by Skinny Lister, mixed by Patrick Phillips and Daniel Heptinstall, the album was given its mastering polish at the iconic Abbey Road Studios by Frank Arkwright. A glorious mix of chest-thumping anthems, shanty sing-a-longs and folk/punk classics born to be heard live, it’s a full-blooded and frenzied glimpse into the very heart and soul of Skinny Lister, and a thriving statement of just what continues to make these long-standing folk-punk treasures tick.

Taking ‘Shanty Punk’ out to the masses this Winter, the quintet will be putting it to the test with an extensive run of UK shows throughout November and December. With a reputation for one of the most uplifting and exhilarating shows in the biz, the full list of dates can be found below:



22 LIVERPOOL O2 Academy 2

23 CARLISLE The Brickyard

24 GLASGOW King Tuts

25 BELFAST Voodoo

26 DUBLIN Grand Social

30 NORWICH Arts Centre


01 HULL Social


03 SHEFFIELD Leadmill

08 SOUTHAMPTON Engine Rooms

09 PLYMOUTH The Depo

10 SWANSEA Sin City

14 BRISTOL The Fleece


16 LONDON Lafayette



bottom of page