top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sound Cafe

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee Ozzy Osbourne Proudly Presents His Anxiously Awaited New Album

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee and Grammy®-winning singer and songwriter  OZZY OSBOURNE  proudly presents his anxiously awaited new album, PATIENT NUMBER 9, out now via Epic Records.

He celebrated its arrival with a powerhouse performance during the Halftime Show of the Los Angeles Rams-Buffalo Bills NFL Kickoff Game last night at Sofi Stadium in Los Angeles, CA. Additionally, he joined forces with SiriusXM for Ozzy Osbourne’s ‘Patient Number 9’ Album Special on Ozzy’s Boneyard. OZZY, legendary guitarist ZAKK WYLDE, and album producer ANDREW WATT spoke to host BILLY MORRISON at-length about the new record in addition to performing select cuts and answering questions by SiriusXM hosts and subscribers. Following its premiere last night, it airs throughout the weekend.

Check out the broadcast schedule below.

Right out of the gate, PATIENT NUMBER 9 has incited unanimous critical applause. Consequence of Sound proclaimed, “From start to finish, PATIENT NUMBER 9 is an inspired and consistent OZZY studio offering, and Metal Hammer rated it “4-out-of-5 Stars” and attested, “It sounds like the Prince of fucking Darkness having an absolutely smashing time, with a bunch of his mates and, weirdly, a newfound sense of artistic ambition. The Guardian also scored it “4-out-of-5 Stars, while Revolver Magazine assured, “this heavy-metal patient only sounds recharged, not ready for any farewells or swan songs just yet.

Between the singles “PATIENT NUMBER 9” [feat. Jeff Beck], “Degradation Rules” [feat. Tony Iommi], and “Nothing Feels Right” [feat. Zakk Wylde], the album has already eclipsed 10 million total streams and counting.

The new album marks the first release since Osbourne’s critically acclaimed, worldwide, chart-topping 2020 album ORDINARY MAN. Produced by Andrew Watt (who handled the same duties on ORDINARY MAN), the new album marks Osbourne’s 13th solo studio album. It’s heavy, it’s hard-hitting, it’s historic–it’s everything you’d want from an Ozzy Osbourne record and maybe more. Working with producer Watt for the second time, Ozzy welcomed dynamic A-list featured guests. For the first time ever, Black Sabbath co-founder, guitarist, and riff-master Tony Iommi appears on an Ozzy solo album. The record also boasts guitarists Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton, Mike McCready of Pearl Jam, and longstanding righthand man and six-string beast Zakk Wylde who plays on the majority of the tracks. For the bulk of the album, Chad Smith of Red Hot Chili Peppers held down drums, while the late Taylor Hawkins of Foo Fighters appears on three songs. Old friend and one-time OZZY band member Robert Trujillo of Metallica plays bass on most of the album’s tracks, with Duff McKagan of Guns N’ Roses and Chris Chaney of Jane’s Addiction supplying bass on a few songs.


bottom of page