top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sound Cafe

Canadian Rock Band The Watchmen Announce 'Silent Radar Super Deluxe Anniversary Edition'

By Stevie Connor.

Canadian rock band The Watchmen announce Silent Radar Super Deluxe Anniversary Edition set for release on April 14. Available for pre-order now, the digital only album celebrates the 25th anniversary of Silent Radar with 46 specially curated tracks recorded at a time when the band was arguably at their peak as a live band and songwriters.

In addition to the mastered original album, the 2023 reissue is made up of live performances, acoustic tracks, and demo recordings that showcase the band’s versatility. Also included is the ‘Raw and Unmixed’ version of Silent Radar that provides a glimpse into what this classic ‘90s album sounded like before it was mixed. On the recording process, drummer Sammy Kohn notes, “We ended up recording the album with producer, Adam Kasper, at the height of the grunge scene in Seattle. It was a very exciting time for the band and I’m very grateful that we had the opportunity to record this material so professionally.”

The 2023 reissue cumulates with a collection of never-before-heard tracks dubbed, ‘The Lost Album’ comprised of comprehensive demo recordings completed before the original album. The band had the opportunity to demo the album in its entirety prior to their time in Seattle with studio veteran Matt De Matteo (Danko Jones, Big Wreck). “I believe these tracks represent the real treasure here,” says Kohn. “It’s an entirely different listening experience with these familiar songs and some absolute magic was captured in these tracks that fans of the band are going to love. They have never been heard as they have lived in our vaults for over 25 years.”

To coincide with pre-order launch, the band has released four brand-new versions of their hit song, “Stereo” available today in original mastered, live acoustic, raw and unmixed, and demo versions on streaming platforms.


The Original Mastered Album

  1. Stereo

  2. Any Day Now

  3. I'm Waiting

  4. Rooster

  5. Silent Radar

  6. Do It

  7. He's Gone

  8. Say Something

  9. On My Way

  10. Top Of The World

  11. Come Around

  12. Brighter Hell

The Extras

  1. I'm Blind

  2. Stereo (Radio Edit)

  3. Any Day Now (Radio Edit)

  4. Brighter Hell (Radio Edit)

  5. Stereo (Live Acoustic)

  6. Say Something (Recorded Live at The Horseshoe, Toronto, April 02, 1998)

  7. Brighter Hell (Recorded Live at The Horseshoe, Toronto, April 02, 1998)

  8. 75 (Live In Studio) (Previously Unreleased)

  9. Elementary (Live In Studio) (Previously Unreleased)

  10. You (Rehearsal Take) (Previously Unreleased)

Raw: The Unmixed Album

  1. Stereo

  2. Any Day Now

  3. I'm Waiting

  4. Wait And See (Rooster)

  5. Silent Radar

  6. Do it

  7. He's Gone

  8. Grown Up (On My Way)

  9. Say Something

  10. Top Of The World

  11. Come Around

  12. Brighter Hell

  13. I'm Blind

The Lost Album

  1. Do it

  2. Who Am I

  3. Any Day Now

  4. Stereo

  5. Come Around

  6. Silent Radar

  7. I'm Blind

  8. He's Gone

  9. Say Something

  10. Top Of The World

  11. I'm Waiting

The Watchmen are a four-piece rock and roll band from Winnipeg, Manitoba made up of Daniel Greaves (vocals), Ken Tizzard (bass), Joey Serlin (guitar) and Sammy Kohn (drums). 

The band caught the attention of Chris Wardman while playing at Toronto's Horseshoe Tavern. Wardman offered to produce the band, and they released their debut album, McLaren Furnace Room, in 1992 via Wardman's Sumo Productions with distribution through MCA records. The single "Cracked" garnered the band significant airplay on rock stations but was quickly eclipsed by the anti-spousal abuse anthem "Run and Hide," which became the band's breakthrough hit. 

The band's second album, In The Trees, was released on MCA records in July 1994. The record was a major success, confirming the band's place in Canadian rock with the hit singles "Boneyard Tree," "All Uncovered" and "Lusitana." The album was certified Platinum in Canada, after selling over 100,000 copies, and garnered a nomination for Group of the Year at the 1995 JUNO Awards.

Their 1996 album Brand New Day included singles "Zoom," "Incarnate" and "Shut Up." The band toured extensively through Canada and Europe which lasted into 1997. The album was nominated for North Star Rock Album of the Year at the 1997 JUNO Awards.

Following Brand New Day, the band left MCA records and was signed to EMI. Working with Adam Kasper (Nirvana, Soundgarden, The Tragically Hip) in Seattle’s Studio Litho (owned by Stone Gossard of Pearl Jam), they released Silent Radar in 1998. With the hit singles "Stereo," "Any Day Now," "Brighter Hell" and "Say Something” the album quickly went Gold in Canada and received their third Juno nomination for Best Rock Album in 1999.

2001 saw the band begin to experiment with electronic elements with the release of Slomotion, featuring the hit single, “Absolutely Anytime.” The album debuted in the top 10 and subsequently went Gold.

In 2017, the band released their first live album with the digital and vinyl release of Live and In Stereo, which cracked the top 5 on Canada’s vinyl sales chart.

With 30+ years under their belt, The Watchmen continue to sell out venues across Canada with energetic shows that are stacked with their hits, classic covers, and invariably a haunting a cappella performance by Greaves that captivates any audience.

The band is active with their fans through social media, sharing rare photos and even a full-length live show download from a performance in Australia. In 2021, they were honoured with an induction into the prestigious Western Canadian Music Hall Of Fame. This year, they celebrate the 25th anniversary of Silent Radar.

FOLLOW THE WATCHMEN Website | Facebook | Instagram

bottom of page