top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sound Cafe

Blues & Roots Radio Announce Finalists in Their International Song Contest

The Blues & Roots Radio International Song Contest this year was judged by an independent panel of jurors who are currently part of the Worldwide Blues & Roots Radio team, they are all active in their music communities in Canada, USA, Europe and Australia, a number of the jurors sit on regional and national award panels in their respective countries.

Previous contest winners include Lynne Hanson ( 2019 ) and Thornetta Davis ( 2018 ), this year's contest saw a record number of entries from around the world, and for the first time cash prizes are being awarded to the category winners with an additional prize and award being given to the overall winner.

This years field of fifteen nominees in each category carries some heavyweight names in the world of independent music, styles range from Americana, Contemporary Folk, Roots, Blues, Celtic music and more. The overall winner will be chosen from the three winning category winners and will all be announced on January 30th.

Neil Mitchell, co-founder of Blues & Roots Radio, said " We are delighted with the strength of entries this year, and we are very grateful to our sponsors who have made it possible to award cash prizes, this is extremely important to us as we try and support artists around the world, especially in these trying times, we thank our jurors for their precious time, all the artists who have submitted a song, and we wish good luck to this years nominees"


Willow Sound Records Willow Sound is a record label dedicated to the development and distribution of independent music. With a special focus on education, Willow Sound provides full A&R services to fully understand the business of music while empowering the artist in becoming the CEO of their own music enterprise.

Cooper Mediation

Vance Cooper is principal of Cooper Mediation Inc. Vance devotes 100% of his professional time to mediating and arbitrating primarily personal injury and insurance cases. Vance is a huge supporter of independent artists, hosting performances and raising money for charities.

Global Learning Solutions

Jay Quinlan is president of Global Learning Solutions, he is also a singer, songwriter and supports independent artists.

The Sound Cafe is a proud sponsor of the contest.

Category Finalists 2020

Band | Duo | Trio Category Finalists ( In Alphabetical Order )

  • Big Little Lions - Its Amazing

  • Birch Pereira and the Gin Joints - A Love I Can't Explain

  • Corn Nut Creek - Nowhere To Go

  • Flo Perlin and Pilgrims Dream - Life Lives Inside

  • Fresh Breath - Make It Together

  • Happenstance - Love Will Bring You Back

  • Kate Lush Band - Jackson

  • Liz Jones & Broken Windows - Candle

  • Our Man in the Field - Thin (I Used To Be Bullet Proof)

  • Paul Saint John and the Nighthawks - Dr Jekyll & Mr Hyde

  • Stacey McNeill and Jonathan Smith - Between The Lines

  • The Nesrallah Artuso Project - Isolation Blues

  • The Winnie Blues - Coming Home To You

  • Tillers Folly - Go the Road

  • Waterstreet Blues Band - Riverside Child

Female Category Finalists Category Finalists ( In Alphabetical Order )

  • Anna Boulic - Who Stole My Crown

  • Anna Renae - Alaska

  • Aspen Jacobsen - Georgia Boy

  • Chanele McGuinness - Give Me Your Life

  • Dione Taylor - Workin'

  • Francine Honey - Cant Press Reset

  • Isobel Thatcher - More Than Words

  • Izzy Burns - Broken Compass

  • Jenny Biddle - Hero in Me (Hero in You Sequel)

  • Kim Moberg - Here Be Dragons

  • Liz Jones - Mother Earth

  • Loryn Taggart - The River

  • Sandra Sutter - Hypnotized

  • Sarah Yeo - Easily

  • Terra Spencer - Lunenburg Moon

Male Category Finalists ( In Alphabetical Order )

  • Braden Gates - New In Town

  • Bruce Coughlan - Lean Times

  • Colin Clyne - Where The Ships Go To Die

  • Glen MacNeil - The Quiet

  • Jeremy Hill - More And More Each Day

  • Kieran Begbie - Smile

  • Kirk Diamond - Let It Be Done

  • Lloyd Spiegel - Tangled Brew

  • Loveridge - The Doom Bar

  • Mark Crissinger - Poor Boy Blues

  • Mike P Ryan - Fais Do Do (A Cajun Lullaby)

  • Mitch Jean - All I Ever Need

  • RNR - 1492

  • Saoirse Mhór - Table of Losers (Part I)

  • Steve Warner Folk - Blue


Previous Finalists and Winners:


bottom of page