top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sound Cafe

Blues & Roots Radio 4th Annual International Song Contest Finalists Announced

Friday January 7th 2022, Blues & Roots Radio announced the finalists in their 4th Annual International Song Contest, with entries from all over the world, the contest has had a record number of entrants with 25 finalists in each category just announced.

Designed to nurture the musical talent of songwriters on all levels, both amateur and professional, it was created to promote excellence in the art of song craft.

The International Song Contest this year was judged by an independent panel of ten jurors who are currently part of the Worldwide Blues & Roots Radio team, they are all active in their music communities in Canada, USA, Europe and Australia, a number of the jurors sit on regional and national award panels in their respective countries.

President of Blues & Roots Radio, Anne Connor, said "I'd like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who submitted their songs to this years contest, we had a record number of entries from around the world, the quality was extremely high, there really is so much undiscovered talent out there, it's going to be a difficult task for our jurors. I'd also like to say a huge than you to our sponsors for making the contest possible. We wish all the finalists good luck."

This years sponsors included Cole Clark Guitars (Melbourne, Australia), Willow Sound Records (Ottawa, Canada & Nashville, USA), Global Learning Solutions (Peterborough, Canada) and Cooper Mediation (Toronto, Canada)


Duo | Trio | Band Category (In Alphabetical Order)

  • Anders Drerup - Two First Kisses

  • Big Little Lions - Only A Friend Like You

  • Blue Moon Marquee - As I Lay Dying

  • CFI Celtic Rock - The Storm

  • Chris Andres Band - Scars

  • Dean Owens - Land Of The Hummingbird

  • Fresh Breath - World Gone Crazy

  • igoodea - Late December

  • Jabbour - Carling Lake

  • Jason Lee McKinney Band - Paperback Novels

  • JJ ROOTS - Boxcars and Memoirs

  • Karen Morand and The Bosco Boys - Never Enough

  • Kayulta - Take the Easy Way

  • Leslie D King and The Trembling Shakes - The Standard Dream

  • Linda Arseneault - Cranky Pants

  • Liz Jones and Broken Windows - Stain

  • Mermaid Avenue - Turn the Page

  • Nesrallah Artuso Project - I Love My Girl

  • Paul Saint John and the Nighthawks - Sideshow Queen

  • ​Rambal - Give Me a Little Love

  • Shock Sorrow - Lament

  • Stacey McNeill and Jonathan Smith - Blood on My Hands

  • The Swamp Stompers - Wishing I Had You

  • The Water Runners - Point of No Return

  • Wild Flight - Whiskey Talkin'

Female Category (In Alphabetical Order)

  • Amanda Grace - Please Dear Sun

  • Amy Blake - Blue

  • Briar Summers - Stronger

  • Elly Wininger - The Blues Never End

  • Emma Gale - Enjoy Life While You Can

  • Francine Honey - Hold On

  • Hannah Acfield - Like Lovers Do

  • I Claudia - The Elephant and You

  • Ingrid Gerdes - Water Through Your Hands

  • Izzy Burns - Where Did We Go Wrong

  • Kate Reid - Caroline

  • Kate Weekes - Sing it to the Hills

  • Kim Doolittle - Poor Boy (Oh My My)

  • Kim Williams Music - Fight Strong

  • Laura Keating - Mercy Me

  • liza Ohlback - bad day

  • Lucie Tiger - Gasoline

  • Moira Bren - Just Cars

  • Nancy Dutra - I Cry

  • Piper Butcher - Before The Thunder

  • Rachel Walker - I Never Knew

  • Rhona Macfarlane - No Rain

  • Sandra Sutter - Standing People

  • Terra Spencer - Feels Like Home

  • Tiki Black - Colour Me Blue

Male Category (In Alphabetical Order)

  • Andre Bisson - When I'm Gone

  • Bert Deivert - Badge 623

  • Bobbo Byrnes - Hold Me

  • Broke Fuse - Strawberry Moon

  • Daniel Cook - Take it Slow

  • Danny Garrett - Make it Talk

  • Duffmusiq - Ordinary Fool

  • Glen MacNeil - Car Window

  • Greg Hancock - Changing

  • Ian David Green - Born Under a Northern Light

  • Ian Roland - Beyond Words

  • James Bennett - Before I Fall

  • Jay Elle - She's So Fine

  • Jeremy Parsons - Good Ole Days

  • Kyle McKearney - Devil Water

  • L.A. Moore - Reach Out

  • Mark Sterling - Deep Down

  • Michael Cunningham - Last Dance

  • Nicholas James Thomasma - The One That Got Away

  • Rob Lutes - That Bird Has My Wings

  • Sam Barbour - Freedom Wheels

  • Steve Warner - Grace

  • String Bone - Where Do You Go

  • Terry Penney - Valley Of The Whispering Pine

  • Tim Isberg - Jerusalem Road

Category winners will be announced on January 20th, with the overall winner to be announced on January 30th 2022.


bottom of page