top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sound Cafe

A Conversation With Joe Louis Walker

Douglas McLean chats with legendary Bluesman Joe Louis Walker about his latest album 'Eclectic Electric' for his latest Sound Cafe Podcast, 'Backstage'.

You can listen to the entire interview and music HERE

Joe Louis Walker’s new album, Eclectic Electric was released on November 12th, 2021, on Los Angeles-based record label Cleopatra Records. It is a joyous recording featuring great new originals from the legendary bluesman, and some exquisite covers from the vast American Song catalogue.

The follow up to his powerful ‘Blues Comin' On’ released in 2020, Walker newest album explores the sound’s he loves best with his band and guest performers, all adding up to an exciting set of new songs and memorable moments. Joe, an articulate spokesperson for the blues and his generation of musicians, speaks candidly and openly with Douglas McLean, in a new interview following their chat in 2020. (see The Sound Café Vault, episode #21, April 23,2021).

Eclectic Electric features an amazing array of talented guest artists.

Here is the track list along with the names of the guests:

1. Uptown Girl Blues – Songwriters: Joe Louis Walker/JoJo Russo/John Lindsay Bradford – Featuring Jimmy Vivino on guitar

2. Wine – Songwriter: Sonny West – Featuring Steve Berlin on baritone sax

3. Bad Betty – Songwriter: Joe Louis Walker

4. Gone and Alone – Songwriter: Joe Louis Walker

5. Hotel California – Songwriters: Don Henley/Glenn Frey/Don Felder – Featuring Murali Coryell on guitar

6. Regal Blues – Songwriters: Joe Louis Walker/JoJo Russo – Featuring the B.B. King Blues Band and Doyle Bramhall II on guitar

7. Make no Mistake – Songwriters: Keith Richards/Steve Jordan

8. Two Trains Running – Songwriter: McKinley Morganfield

9. Werewolves of London – Songwriters: Warren Zevon/Waddy Wachtel/LeRoy Marinell – Featuring Waddy Wachtel on guitar

10. Lady in Red – Songwriters: Jimmy Barnett/Brad Sexton – Featuring Bette Smith on vocal

11. All She Wants to Do is Dance – Songwriter: Danny Kortchmar

Joe Louis Walker is one of the greatest bluesmen of his generation. He is a four-time Blues Music Award winner and 2013 Blues Hall of Fame inductee who has appeared on multiple Grammy-winning albums. He is known worldwide as one of the genre’s top musical trailblazers—a mesmerizing guitarist and soul-testifying vocalist.

The New York Times raves, “Walker is a singer with a Cadillac of a voice. He delivers no-nonsense, gutsy blues. His guitar solos are fast, wiry and incisive, moaning with bluesy despair.” Rolling Stone simply calls him “ferocious.”

And Billboard writes: “His playing blows all over the map…gutbucket blues, joyous gospel, Rolling Stones-style rock crunch, and aching R&B. Walker’s guitar playing is fine and fierce."

Joe won the 2016 Blues Foundation Contemporary Blues Male Artist of the Year award at the Blues Foundation Awards ceremony in Memphis. The Blues Music Awards are universally recognized as the highest accolade afforded blues music performers. The annual Blues Music Awards ceremony is the premier event for blues professionals, musicians, and fans from all over the world.



Hotel California

Make no Mistake

Gone and Alone

Regal Blues

Uptown Girl Blues

Werewolves Of London

You can listen to the entire interview and music HERE


bottom of page