top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Sound Cafe

Ireland's Jim McHugh Releases Single 'Dave' Feb 5th

Monaghan singer-songwriter Jim McHugh is back with his new single 'Dave' and a first taste of what's to come from his upcoming third album 'Pretending To Wake Up', due for release May 28th. With this new single McHugh lets us hear how he has progressed his rock sound in an organic way, never wavering from his roots in crunchy guitars and anthemic riffs but always developing as a songwriter and raising his game sonically. Working alongside producer Alex Borwick (Parliament Funkadelic, Catfish & The Bottlemen, Niamh Regan, Lankum) and session musicians Paul McCabe (bass) Paul Sherry (Electric Guitar) and Butch McNeill (Drums), McHugh brings a new dynamic and alluring sound to the rock genre. About 'Dave' Jim says...."In an original story of misspent youth, Dave unveils my interactions with a friend who was known for being on the wrong side of the law on numerous occasions." McHugh's previous releases have been added to RTE 1's Recommends list, been premiered by Hot Press Magazine, been Album of The Week at KCLR, been All Out Local Song Choice at LMFM and had extensive regional, national and international airplay. With this new release he is whetting his fans appetite for an exciting new album and what will surely be a live set that will have any room in the country strumming their air guitars and banging their heads to the sweet riffs!! Pre order the album 'Pretending to Wake Up' on vinyl from Jim's website.

From the Farney drumlins of Co. Monaghan, Ireland, multi-instrumentalist Jim McHugh brings a new edge to the folk tradition, blending traditional and indie styles with up-tempo beats. In 2016 he drew upon his past and recent musical experiences to record an album of new songs entitled ‘Noise Machine’, nicely summed up by Pete Whalley as ‘Indie folk-driven rock that has a vibrant beating heart’.

Jim’s second album ‘My Nuclear Radio’ followed in 2019. This 11 track album included the singles Avenue Road, Marjorie, Everything’s Cool and My Mandalay and was recorded, produced and mastered in Ben Reel’s studio in South Armagh. It featured Jim on Vocals/Mandolin/Electric Guitar, Paul McCabe on Bass, Butch McNeill on Drums and John McCullough on Piano/Keyboards.

In 2020, Jim released ‘Should Have Lied’ which was premiered by Hotpress Magazine and received multiple airplay nationally and internationally.

In late 2020, Jim recorded a new album entitled ‘Pretending To Wake Up’ at Black Mountain Studios, Jenkinstown and Wynne Wynne Studio, Dundalk. The album was mastered by Fergal Davis (Sinéad O’Connor/Muse). The album will be available in late May 2021 and will be pressed to Vinyl as a special release


bottom of page